AQF and VET 

       Two frameworks in Australia make their educational system both inventive and complicated, meaning their qualifications and vocational education systems to establish standards where all levels of education can vary between states and territories. The Australia Qualifications Framework (AQF) is a federal system of qualifications, developed and overseen by an Australian qualifications advisory board and the Ministerial Council on Education, Employment, Training and Youth Affairs (MCEETYA). 1 As Technical and Further Education (TAFE) is also governed by differentiated state and territorial standards, for many of the same reasons the national system of vocational education (VET) was established.  Both are currently in the process of being institutionalized. The AQF is thus a framework that incorporates VET, TAFE, and tertiary qualifications in coordinating a unified system between secondary, vocational, and higher education.  Given their autonomy from government, where institutions establish their own standards of admissions, curriculum and qualifications, the diversity of tertiary education, TAFE institutions, and the “unusual influence of private schools in secondary education” have been a challenge for standards and accountability. 2 Likewise, implementing AQF and VET has also proven to be a complicated structural change. 
       For students that attend a secondary institution, they first earn a secondary certificate (eight separate certificates for eight separate states and territories). 3 If the individual attended a vocational program through VET, the student earns a qualification between I and IV. Qualifications I and II recognize basic vocational skills and qualifications III and IV serve as trade certifications. Students can also earn a dual secondary and vocational education qualification. Apprenticeship programs have been developed for practical experience and learning from paid work, which through VET can begin before graduation from a secondary institution. 4 The student with either a secondary certificate or VET qualification then chooses to enter the workforce accordingly, pursue further vocational education through TAFE, or attend an institution of higher education. The complications of the system essentially concern the nature of the AQF recognized qualifications and linkages between cross sectors, for which the MCEETYA offers best practices since access to institutions beyond secondary education have independent admissions standards. 5
       Students with an AQF qualification can go on to study at a TAFE institution or university and earn up to four additional certificates, including a diploma, an advanced diploma as well as a vocational graduate certificate and graduate diploma. Tertiary qualifications through AQF include two qualifications before a Bachelors degree and two additional step qualifications before earning a Masters degree. Following the masters degree qualification, the student can proceed with Doctoral studies.  With the implementation of VET and the AQF in Australia, for a country with a tradition of institutional autonomy, questions over the motivations of the national intervention in education have been asked at all levels of education from secondary to TAFE schools, and particularly from institutions of tertiary education.  Many of the issues relate to questions over federal trends internationally.      


1 Australian Qualifications Framework Advisory Board. "Australia
Qualifications Framework." Retrieved February 22, 2007,
2 Keating, J. (2003). "Qualifications Frameworks in Australia," Journal
of Education and Work
, Vol. 16, No. 3. 
3 Australian Qualifications Framework Advisory Board. "Senior
Secondary Certificate of Education." Retrieved February 22, 2007,
4 Australian Qualifications Framework Advisory Board. "AQF
Qualifications: Certificates I-IV." Retrieved February 22, 2007,
5 Australian Qualifications Framework Advisory Board. "Cross
Sector Linkages." Retrieved February 22, 2007,



Make your own free website on